Handling your subscription and team members

Access roles

Admin

In Aether Pro, the admin (if you’re the payer for that team, you are the admin) can add new members to a team, remove them, and manage the team subscription. It can also decide whether to make an email domain be able to auto-join if they prefer.

The admin is also a moderator, it can delete threads and posts from other members.

Member

A member of a team can add other members explicitly if they so prefer, however, it cannot remove a member from the team.

Adding a member to a team

In the app, you can do this at the Team & members page (at @[yourname] at top right > Team & members). At the bottom of that page, you can add an email address of a person you want to be added to the team. This will activate a membership for the email, and the user will receive a notification. This can be done both by an admin and a regular member. This new member will be added to your subscription.

Removing a member from a team

An admin can go to the Team & members page, and disable a member. This member will be immediately logged out and the data on his or her local machine will be purged. However, the content that the user has created will remain on your team. If you disable a member, you will no longer be billed for that member.

Reactivating a member

An admin can reactivate a member from Team & members page in the app. This will make the reactivated member get access back to the user account that it used to have, and resume from that point on. This will re-enable billing for that member.

Auto-join for the email domain

If your team has a shared email domain, you can make anyone with such an email be able to log in instantly, without needing an invite.

For example, a team that has auto-join enabled for @acme.com email domain will accept any team members with an email ending with @acme.com. Their membership will automatically start when they first log in.

The admin chooses whether to enable or disable this when they first sign up. They also can enable or disable this feature from the Team & members page in the app.

Disabling a team and cancelling your subscription

If you’d like to cancel your subscription, please send an email to support+cancel@getaether.net and we’ll promptly cancel it, no questions asked.

(Our billing dashboard is currently in progress, and we are actively working on making cancellation easier.)

That said, we’d love to know what we could do better, so if you have any feedback, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us. We are available at support@getaether.net and through live chat.